ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Lillian Gish (1893 –1993)

Born: Lillian Diana Gish
October 14, 1893, Springfield, Ohio, US

In an illustrious and prolific film career which spanned 75 years, the beautiful and talented Lillian Gish is best remembered for her melodramatic performances during the silent era on a number of well-known and hugely popular D.W Griffith’s films, including the infamous The Birth of a Nation (1915), Intolerance (1916), Broken Blossoms (1919), Way Down East (1920), and Orphans of the Storm (1921). Amazingly, Gish appeared in a total of six films which are included in the 1001 list of “movies to see before you die”, including the 1955 American thriller, The Night of the Hunter. Her last film was opposite Bette Davis in The Whales of August (1987) in which she played an aging sister reluctantly dependent on her younger sibling – a heartfelt performance and her final role in an extraordinary career (Klaus Ming May 2011).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


This entry was posted on 05/20/2011 by in AFI100.
%d bloggers like this: