ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Days of Heaven (1978)

US 94m, Colour
Director: Terrence Malick; Cast: Richard Gere, Brooke Adams, Sam Shepard, Linda Manz

Visually stunning and reminiscent of an Andrew Wyeth painting known as Christina’s World, Days of Heaven is a sorrowful drama set at the beginning of the twentieth century on an expansive Texas farm. The story follows Bill and Abbey – a poor couple from Chicago who pretend to be siblings and Linda, Abbey’s younger sister, whose informal narration fittingly serves in place of dialogue for much of the film. As a tragic love story, Days of Heaven plays as a dream – a fondly remembered fragment of a young girl’s life which unexpectedly comes to a close as quickly as it began (Klaus Ming September 2011).

2 comments on “Days of Heaven (1978)

  1. SJHoneywell
    10/03/2012

    I’ve toyed with watching this one a few times. I have a feeling that I might wait a little longer and go on a Malick run for a week or so. There’s something about him I find both depressing and uplifting. I think I need to be in the right mood to really get him the way I should.

    • Klaus
      10/04/2012

      My only complaint is that the movie ended quite abruptly – leaving me wanting more. It kind of surprised me, considering Malick’s propensity for long run times.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/01/2012 by in 1001 List, 1970s, All and tagged .
