ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

600th from the 1001 List

cherries in basketHaving just posted my 600th review from the 1001 list today, I’m once again pondering what I have left to watch. Though I somewhat systematically viewed much of the silent era first, as a means to better understand the historical basis for much of film, the subsequent cherry-picking of my favourite films and genres has left me with an ever shrinking list of movies that I am really looking forward to watching.  I shudder when I think that  still have to sit through the likes of West Side Story, The Ten Commandments, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Grease, A Christmas Story, Top Gun and Dances with Wolves. I hope there will be a few more pleasant surprises (Klaus Ming June 2013).

8 comments on “600th from the 1001 List

  1. vinnieh
    06/14/2013

    Congratulations on writing 600 reviews.

  2. TSorensen
    06/14/2013

    Well, there is certainly an advantage to mixing it up from the beginning. However I have found that the best movies on the list were actually movies I expected very little from, so maybe you will get some nice surprises. have fun!

    • Klaus
      06/14/2013

      Thanks, I really hope so – in the meantime, I figure i’ll knock off a few stinkers – up first Top Gun!

  3. Anthony Lee Collins
    06/14/2013

    I haven’t seen most of the movies you listed, and as far as I can remember my main reaction to West Side Story was complete indifference, but what do you have against A Christmas Story? 🙂

    • Klaus
      06/14/2013

      Heh, heh…That’s what my wife just asked (i’m not much for Christmas) – saw too much of this as kid i guess 🙂

  4. Romy Sommer
    06/14/2013

    Congratulations on reaching 600! I really hope you find many more you enjoy along the way.

    I don’t comment on your blog but I read every review, and want to thank you for your blog.

    • Klaus
      06/14/2013

      Thanks Romy, I appreciate that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 06/14/2013 by in Other Stuff.
