ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Vinyl (1965)

US 70m, B&W
Director: Andy Warhol; Cast: Gerard Malanga, Edie Sedgwick, Ondine, Tosh Carillo

vinyl-1965Vinyl is an embarrassingly bad film adaptation of the Anthony Burgess’ novel A Clockwork Orange that consists of horribly delivered lines, sadomasochistic inspired “treatment”, and go-go style dancing to random pop music all shot from a static camera in the foreground. Perhaps misunderstood by most when it was made, Vinyl remains a dull film experiment that would likely not have seen the light of day if it were not for Warhol’s notoriety (Klaus Ming January 2015).

4 comments on “Vinyl (1965)

  1. SJHoneywell
    01/20/2015

    This is still the single worst film I have ever seen in my life. I hope it remains that, because I don’t want to see anything worse.

  2. Chris, a librarian
    01/21/2015

    Andy Warhol’s Bad would be a better choice if you just HAD to list something by Warhol.

  3. Chip Lary
    01/21/2015

    It’s my pick for the worst entry on the 1,001 Movies list. And I think Warhol was just messing with people when he told them it was an adaptation of A Clockwork Orange. I think he was seeing if he could get people to believe it and they did. Vinyl has all the acting ability, production values, and plot of teenagers screwing around in their living room and then posting the video to Youtube.

    By the way, I haven’t seen Bad which Chris mentioned, but I have seen Empire by Andy Warhol – all 8 plus hours of it. It’s an 8 hour static shot of the Empire State Building. It would be my pick for the worst thing I’ve seen from him because at least Vinyl is short. And no, I didn’t watch Empire in real time. I hit fastforward on it.

  4. Klaus
    01/21/2015

    Determining how bad movie is has a lot to do with the film maker’s intentions.If this was intentionally made to be bad, then perhaps Warhol did a pretty good job 😉

    There are a few films that I dislike a whole lot more that are on the list, but not because they are poorly made films — which I guess is the whole point of the book.

    Good / bad / well executed / poorly executed, the underlying historical and cultural reasons that they are included is what makes the list so fun, and why “favourite” lists are not nearly as interesting.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/20/2015 by in 1001 List, 1960s, All and tagged .
