ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Zerkalo (1975)

Soviet Union 107m, Colour, B&W
Director: Andrei Tarkovsky; Cast: Margarita Terekhova, Ignat Daniltsev, Larisa Tarkovskaya, Alla Demidova, Anatoli Solonitsyn, Tamara Ogorodnikova

mirrorZerkalo, also known as The Mirror, is a loosely structured and dreamlike film that interweaves Tarkovsky’s childhood memories with his father’s poems into the sociopolitical history of the Soviet Union. Moving between time and place and connecting many seemingly unconnected events, Zerkalo is a poetic and deeply nostalgic reflection of the memories of a man during the last moments of his life. In Keeping with national tradition, which views film foremost as an art form, Mirror is arguably one of the greatest contributions to Russian cinema, and is as beautiful and thought-provoking as it is challenging (Klaus Ming March 2015).

2 comments on “Zerkalo (1975)

  1. Hoosier X
    03/22/2015

    Zerkalo is a really incredible movie, and I’ve always had trouble describing it in a way that would make anyone want to watch it.

    I find Tarkovsky to be the most infuriating filmmaker ever. I either love his films with a burning appreciation for some almost otherworldly cinema – Zerkalo, Andrei Rublev, Nostalghia – or I end up wishing I hadn’t subjected myself to such narrative torture for so long – Solaris, Stalker, The Sacrfice.

    And you don’t know which it is until you see it! Bozhe moi! I thought I was going to have to kill myself when I went to a double feature of Stalker and The Sacrifice! There’s still a part of me that still stuck in that cinema, wishing that all the characters from both movies had been killed by existential radio-active mutants at the beginning of Stalker.

    • Klaus
      03/23/2015

      I agree, Zerkalo is something special, but i can understand the frustration of a casual viewer. The only other Tarkovsky film I’ve seen is Solaris. – which I’ve enjoyed enough to purchase on Criterion. I think I need to see Stalker after your description!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 03/22/2015 by in 1001 List, 1970s, All and tagged .
