ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Ava Gardner (1922 – 1990)

Born: Ava Lavinia Gardner
December 24, 1922

ava-gardnerToiling with small parts during the first five years of her film career, Ava Gardner’s break came with her appearance in The Killers (1946) with Burt Lancaster. Gardner was nominated once for an Academy Award as Best Actress in Mogambo (1953). She appeared in almost 70 films over five decades, four of which are included on the 1001 list, including: The Killers (1946), Pandora and the Flying Dutchman (1951), The Band Wagon (1953), and The Barefoot Contessa (1954) (Klaus Ming March 2015).

2 comments on “Ava Gardner (1922 – 1990)

  1. Anthony Lee Collins
    03/26/2015

    First I thought I’d never seen her in anything, but I know I’ve seen The Killers and The Band Wagon. I guess I just don’t remember her in The Killers (which I saw a long time ago and which is overshadowed in my mind by the short story), and it turns out, according to IMDb, that she appeared in The Band Wagon (a movie I’ve seen many times) as herself, uncredited. So, probably a cameo, and still not remembered by me.

    Further research, however, has revealed that she was Lady Brett Ashley in The Sun Also Rises, which I remember very well, and which is not, for good reason, on the 1001 list. 🙂

    • Klaus
      03/27/2015

      Indeed, she played herself in a cameo in Band Wagon – pretty forgettable movie as well (despite being on the 1001 list).

      Mogambo is another odd film that had a couple of Oscar nominated performances, that is definitely worth a look for the kitsch value.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 03/26/2015 by in AFI100.
