ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

The One I Love (2014)

US 91m, Colour
Director: Charlie McDowell; Cast: Mark Duplass, Elisabeth Moss, Ted Danson

the_one_I_loveThe One I Love is a surprisingly strange romantic comedy that has the feel of an episode of the Twilight Zone. A couple struggling to save their marriage, Ethan and Sophie heed the advice of their therapist and take a weekend in the country at a secluded estate that is sure to provide just what they need to reconcile their relationship. Beginning as a confusing story, The One I Love quickly becomes a mystery as the plot is revealed. Taking both the viewer and the characters to unexpected and amusing places, this film is best enjoyed with no to little beforehand knowledge of the plot (Klaus Ming May 2015).

5 comments on “The One I Love (2014)

  1. Joachim Boaz
    05/03/2015

    I was very skeptical of this one…. But my fiancé wanted me to watch it with her. It was quite the bizarre experience! And very worthwhile.

    • Klaus
      05/03/2015

      A pretty nice little movie. I didn’t know anything about it before I’d watched it.

  2. Chip Lary
    05/04/2015

    This was one of my Top films of 2014. I agree that the less a person knows going into it, the better. When I reviewed it I deliberately avoided most discussions on plot.

    • Chip Lary
      05/04/2015

      That was supposed to read “Top 10 films of 2014”.

    • Klaus
      05/04/2015

      Indeed, i had a difficult time in writing much about the plot – without giving it away.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 05/03/2015 by in 2010s, All, Unlisted and tagged .
