ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

New Media Room for Klaus

11218629_10153716045041873_6022089925778912244_nIt’s been a long time coming, but my new media room is nearly complete – and at least partially functional. As such, I plan to resume my regular movie reviews starting this weekend. While initially I was hoping to install a projector and a 100″ screen, room limitations (mainly ceiling height) curtailed my plans. Though not quite what I had originally envisioned, I’m very happy with my 12′ X 22′ dedicated movie room fitted with an acoustic-tiled  ceiling, dimming wall lighting, a 65″ monitor, theatre seating, and soon-to-be-purchased 5.1 surround audio system (Klaus Ming November 2015).

11 comments on “New Media Room for Klaus

  1. vinnieh
    11/17/2015

    IT looks really good.

    • Klaus
      11/17/2015

      Thanks, I still need to build some custom shelving for my movie collection and paint some trim (but its close).

      • vinnieh
        11/17/2015

        That’s great, it’s been a while since I last spoke to you. How you doing?

      • Klaus
        11/19/2015

        Been a busy summer / fall with the sale of our old house and the renovations in our new one. hoping to finish things up by December and enjoy the holidays in the media room 🙂

      • vinnieh
        11/19/2015

        You’ve been a busy bee.

  2. Anthony Lee Collins
    11/18/2015

    Cool. The question is whether this setup will make everything look better (suddenly, all reviews are thumbs-up!), or will it reveal even more clearly the weaknesses in some of the movies? 🙂

    • Klaus
      11/19/2015

      Heh, heh, yeah, I’ve already noticed the difference – at least in the poor quality of some of my favourite DVDs. It reminds me when we got our first colour television in 1966. At that time, we essentially would only watch shows with the little “C” symbol in TV Guide 🙂

  3. TSorensen
    11/18/2015

    Awesome! I always dreamed of making me a room like that.

    • Klaus
      11/19/2015

      So have I. Once i finish constructing some shelving units, i’ll post a few more photos.

  4. Paragraph Film Reviews
    11/18/2015

    Amazing – I wish I had the space for something like this. The thing I miss most is 5.1 – think it does more to drag you into a film than anything else. Would rather have that than HD or 4K any day.

    • Klaus
      11/19/2015

      I agree, good sound is at least half of the fun. Plus, a good sound system should last for years. Edit – I have since added a new receiver and speakers. getting fun now!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/17/2015 by in Other Stuff.
