ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

2016 Oscar Nominations

klaus2016The planetary configurations are once again aligning to aid my predictions (aka wild guesses)  for the 2016 Academy Awards. This is my most ambitious year yet, as I will be posting related reviews and my picks in a total of 14 categories. At broadcast time, you can also follow me on Twitter at MiNG Movie Reviews. to see what, if any, of my predictions come to pass.

Check back to this post periodically for updates, and feel free to post any criticisms, or your own picks. The 2016 Academy Awards airs Sunday, February 28, 2016 (Klaus Ming January 2016).

Best Picture
The Big Short – more entertaining that it has a right to be
Bridge of Spies – entertaining, but not a great movie
Brooklyn – a simple moving story, but not enough to win
Mad Max: Fury Road – fun, and I enjoyed it, but Best Picture nomination? Really?
The Martian – My favourite film, but unlikely to win Best Picture
The Revenant – Intense! and my front runner, and my pick for Best Picture 
Room – Overrated as a film, but a great performance by Jacob Tremblay
Spotlight – a well-made film, but not very timely – WINNER 0/1

Actor in a Leading Role
Bryan Cranston, Trumbo – My favourite performance,  but unlikely to win
Matt Damon, The Martian – Good, but pretty much Matt Damon on Mars
Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant – Amazing and my pick for Best Actor in a Leading Role – WINNER 1/2
Michael Fassbender, Steve Jobs – A good performance, but nothing special
Eddie Redmayne, The Danish Girl – A masterful performance

Actress in a Leading Role
Cate Blanchett, Carol – not sure why this performance is so well liked
Brie Larson, Room – a made-for-Oscar role, my pick to win Best Actress in a Leading Role – WINNER 2/3
Jennifer Lawrence, Joy – Lawrence’s performance is the best part of this movie
Charlotte Rampling, 45 Years – a fine performance, but not much of a story to work with
Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn – beautifully portrayed, nice transformation of her character and in my opinion, the best performance, but unlikely to beat Larson.

Actor in a Supporting Role
Christian Bale, The Big Short – good supporting role, but thought Carell was just as good
Tom Hardy, The Revenant – probably the best performance of the lot
Mark Ruffalo, Spotlight – wasn’t much of a role
Mark Rylance, Bridge of Spies – interesting character – WINNER 2/4
Sylvester Stallone, Creed – as the sentimental favourite, my pick for Best Supporting Actor

Actress in a Supporting Role
Jennifer Jason Leigh, The Hateful Eight – my pick for Best Supporting Actress 
Rooney Mara, Carol – really? She seems bored and not much else.
Rachel McAdams, Spotlight – not much of a role.
Alicia Vikander, The Danish Girl – a strong memorable performance – WINNER 2/5
Kate Winslet, Steve Jobs – adequate, but an underdeveloped character

Cinematography
Carol – dreary
The Hateful Eight – beautiful exterior shots, and a good use of a small single indoor location.
Mad Max: Fury Road – looked great, but not Oscar material
The Revenant – the easy winner, my pick for Cinematography – WINNER 3/6
Sicario – lots of aerial shots

Directing
The Big Short – Amazed at how much fun this movie was – considering the subject matter
Mad Max: Fury Road – Not a chance
The Revenant – The likely winner, and my easy pick for Directing – WINNER 4/7
Room – Great work with Jacob Tremblay – who should have been nominated
Spotlight – Nothing really special here

Film Editing
The Big Short – Cleverly contributed to the story and my pick for Editing
Mad Max: Fury Road – WINNER 4/8
The Revenant
Spotlight –  a curious choice for this category
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – I guess it had to be nominated for something

Best Original Score
Bridge of Spies – Thomas Newman (generic)
Carol – Carter Burwell (made me sleepy)
The Hateful Eight – Ennio Morricone, my pick for Original Score – WINNER 5/9
Sicario – Jóhann Jóhannsson (lots of low rumbling)
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – John Williams (great, but similar to the others)

Production Design
Bridge of Spies
The Danish Girl
Mad Max: Fury Road – probably the most inventive of the lot – WINNER 5/10
The Martian – looked like mars to me and my pick for Production Design
The Revenant

Sound Editing
Mad Max: Fury Road – the most complex of the lot and my pick for Sound Editing – WINNER 6/11
The Martian
The Revenant
Sicario – lots of low rumbling
Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Visual Effects
Ex Machina – good looking bot! – WINNER 6/12
Mad Max: Fury Road – tremendous visuals, but unlikely to be an Academy favourite
The Martian – best depiction of another planet on film and my pick for Visual Effects
The Revenant – still don’t want to know how they did the bear attack – amazing!
Star Wars: The Force Awakens – great work, but we’ve seen it before

Adapted Screenplay
The Big Short – inventive storytelling and my pick for Adapted Screenplay – WINNER 7/13
Brooklyn – nicely told story, but not much to it
Carol – boring, and put me to sleep
The Martian – a well-told story and my favourite story
Room – I didn’t buy the mother’s reactions outside of the Room

Original Screenplay
Bridge of Spies – solid screenplay, but nothing special
Ex Machina – Interesting, but well-worn genre with a few interesting twists
Inside Out – Very inventive and my front runner and my pick for Original screenplay
Spotlight – Interestingly told story – WINNER 7/14
Straight Outta Compton – An excellent film that I enjoyed a lot more than I thought I would

6 comments on “2016 Oscar Nominations

  1. Klaus
    01/18/2016

    I’ve seen all of the best picture nominees (though still have to write-up Room). Some dark stories this year. My favourite of the lot is The martian, but I suspect that The Revenant will sweep this year’s awards.

  2. Klaus
    01/30/2016

    Surprised at the lack of love for the Hateful Eight and Beasts of No Nation. Both were better than half of the nominees for Best Movie.

  3. Klaus
    02/01/2016

    Trying to get through Creed. Man, what a melodrama!

  4. nicolaskrizan
    02/03/2016

    My swedish thumbs are of course held for Alicia Vikander, though deep down I actually don’t think she will win against Jennifer Jason Leigh.

    • Klaus
      02/04/2016

      She was very good, though I think your correct.

  5. Klaus
    02/29/2016

    Really? Spotlight for best Movie? wouldn’t have been in my top 10

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/14/2016 by in Other Stuff.
