ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Naked Lunch (1991)

Canada/UK/US/Japan 115m, Colour
Director: David Cronenberg; Cast: Peter Welle, Judy Davis, Ian Holm, Julian Sands, Roy Scheider

naked_lunchNaked Lunch is a surreal trip into the drug induced world of creative writing. This is a bizarre film that was inspired by the life and writings of William S. Burroughs, and most notably, his 1959 novel of the same name about a junkie who ends up writing Naked Lunch in a dreamlike place known as the Interzone. Interweaving both story and the creative process, Naked Lunch (the film) is more about Burroughs the author, than about his novel, which essentially serves as a plot device allowing viewers to peer into a very disturbing place: the combined minds of David Cronenberg and William S. Burroughs (Klaus Ming October 2016).

2 comments on “Naked Lunch (1991)

  1. Anthony Lee Collins
    10/03/2016

    There’s a lot to praise about this movie, but what jumps out at me more than anything else when I think about it is the soundtrack.

    I’m a big fan of both Howard Shore and Ornette Coleman, but even I would probably have hesitated to team them up. Cronenberg obviously knows more than I do, though, because the music is tremendous.

    (I also really like the cafe scene, with all the writers and their typewriters. I was going to say that it probably wasn’t a good movie to see on a date, but it probably would be if you’re dating a writer.)

    • Klaus
      10/04/2016

      Interesting that you mention the soundtrack. I was recently thinking about my general lack of discussion around soundtracks and scores in my film posts. There is so much going on in this film, and a lot of others with notable soundtracks, that I usually don’t have the space to get into them. I should probably work on a list of my favourite scores and soundtracks in film.

      Heh, heh, and yeah, probably another not a great date movie 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/03/2016 by in 1001 List, 1990s, All and tagged .
