ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Caché (2005)

France 118m, Colour
Director: Michael Haneke; Cast: Juliette Binoche, Daniel Auteuil, Maurice Bénichou, Lester Makedonsky

cacheCaché is an intriguing psychological thriller about a couple who are terrorized by an unknown voyeur who sends them surveillance tapes which hint at the husband’s guilt-ridden childhood memory of an adopted Algerian boy. With its purposefully ambiguous conclusion, Haneke provides his audience with something to discuss in this exploration of France’s hidden national guilt over The Paris massacre of 1961 (Klaus Ming November 2016).

9 comments on “Caché (2005)

  1. Eric Binford
    11/13/2016

    One of my all-time favorite movies. I love Haneke’s movies and this is his masterpiece. There is something about Haneke’s static camera that gets under my skin.

  2. Joachim Boaz
    11/13/2016

    A downright creeptastic film, might be my favorite of Haneke’s I’ve seen so far. Not sure I can watch his original Funny Games though…

  3. SJHoneywell
    11/13/2016

    Evidently, I’m a big fan of Haneke. I don’t know if I’ve seen anything from him I haven’t at least respected a great deal, and most of them I genuinely like.

    That said, I’m with Joachim here–I won’t watch Funny Games again and don’t really want to watch the remake.

  4. Klaus
    11/14/2016

    After Funny Games, which I won’t ever watch again, I approached this one cautiously and was happily entertained, and initially, somewhat bewildered.

    The events make for a good deal of suspense and paranoia and the kid’s drawings are pretty creepy – though children in horror films always creep me out.

    Though I haven’t seen a lot of Haneke’s films, this one is probably my favourite,

  5. chris, a librarian
    11/21/2016

    I had to watch the ending a couple of times to try to work it out. Haneke is a subtle artist indeed.

    • Klaus
      11/21/2016

      I surprised myself, and I actually caught what was going on the first time through.

      • Joachim Boaz
        11/28/2016

        I figured out the crazy last scene ONLY by reading Ebert’s review. Did you really see the characters meet at the end in the upper left corner the first time?!? impressive 🙂

      • Joachim Boaz
        11/28/2016

        I think it was the upper-left corner, it was a few year ago….

  6. Klaus
    11/28/2016

    @ Joachim – I actually did – and I’m not usually that observant (but i’ve gotten better at seeing things with my 65″ screen 🙂 ). I saw them talking (in the bottom left hand corner), and initially thought that they must have colluded on the creation and delivery of the tape, but for what reason?

    I’ve since watched an interview with Haneke about the film, and it appears that it was simply clever way to get people talking about the film – which has succeeded.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/13/2016 by in 1001+, 2000s, All and tagged .
