ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Suicide Squad (2016)

US 123m, Colour
Director: David Ayer; Cast: Will Smith, Jared Leto, Margot Robbie, Joel Kinnaman, Viola Davis, Jai Courtney, Jay Hernandez, Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje, Ike Barinholtz, Scott Eastwood, Cara Delevingne

suicide-squadIn response to the success of Marvel’s Avengers, Suicide Squad is the DC Comics anti-hero equivalent to the “Dirty Dozen”, an ensemble of super villains who are coerced into helping save the world from a supernatural power. A box office success despite a well-worn plot which fails to generate much excitement or suspense, the only highlight in this largely uneventful production is Jared Leto’s remarkable creepy, but otherwise wasted, performance as the Joker (Klaus Ming November 2016).

9 comments on “Suicide Squad (2016)

  1. Anthony Lee Collins
    11/23/2016

    I enjoyed this more than I can justify and almost certainly more than it deserved. I could see all the flaws, but it was fun anyway.

    I agree about the plot — unfortunately, uninteresting villains with uncompelling schemes are pretty standard in superhero movies these days. I just saw X-Men Apocalypse and it was pretty much the same (ancient evil, blah blah, bad stuff coming out of the sky, blah blah) — only about twice as long with three times as many characters as this one.

    I thought Smith, Robbie, and Davis were really good. Leto has grown on me (boy, that’s an unpleasant image…). A stronger and scarier actress as Enchantress would have helped a lot.

    You could tell it had been pulled in different directions while it was being made, though. It lacked the consistent tone and sensibility of Deadpool or Kick-Ass, which was too bad.

    I understand that there will be a Harley Quinn film, (not a solo film, apparently, but focusing on some of DCs female heroes and villains). That has possibilities.

    • Klaus
      11/24/2016

      I had mixed feelings about this one as well. Too many characters with mismatched “powers” and a villain who to me, seemed all too powerful to have been defeated by any or all of the anti-heros – but i probably am thinking too hard – considering the genre 😉

      Harley Quinn and the Joker were easily my favourites. I didn’t much care for Will Smith’s Deadshot character – especially his weak back story.

      I would have rather gotten to know each of the main characters in their own films prior to seeing them together – Though I suspect that Suicide Squad was DC’s way of introducing them, and now we’ll see each in their own film/backstory.

      • Anthony Lee Collins
        11/24/2016

        Not all of them. They studio will see who breaks out, like Wolverine did in the first X-Men movie — which is obviously Harley. And, in any case, I’m sure Margot Robbie works cheaper than Will Smith 🙂 .

  2. Klaus
    11/26/2016

    “Not all of them” – I hope not, the lizard and boomerang guys are awful.

    • Anthony Lee Collins
      11/28/2016

      This is pretty good:

      (Particularly the part about what constitutes good archaeology 🙂 ).

      • Klaus
        11/29/2016

        Ha, ha! love it! Better than the actual movie 🙂

  3. timneath
    12/01/2016

    I saw this with two friends, now they had seen this off the back of the recent Batman Vs Superman, which was a let down, compared to this. For me who hadn’t I was really bored, the characters weren’t engaging, I didn’t care for any of them. Even with a half decent soundtrack didn’t help. For me it revolved around the Joker and Harley Quinn who were as 2 dimensional as the ink they are first printed on.

    • Klaus
      12/05/2016

      I’ve yet to see Batman vs Superman, and will probably have to be pretty bored to take it on.

      • timneath
        12/05/2016

        I might record from Sky, that way if its boring it will be painless, just to see what all the fuss is about haha.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/22/2016 by in 2010s, All, Unlisted and tagged .
