ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Tangerine (2015)

US 88m, Colour
Director: Sean S. Baker; Cast: Kitana Kiki Rodriguez, Mya Taylor, Karren Karagulian, Mickey O’Hagan, James Ransone

tangerineIt’s Christmas Eve in Hollywood, and Sin-Dee Rella is a transgender sex worker who has just been released from prison only to find out that her fiance-pimp has been cheating on her with a woman. Shot on iPhone 5s smartphones, this is a remarkably well-made movie with a realistic look and feel. Filled with profanity and sexually explicit themes, Tangerine is a hilarious, sad and poignant story (Klaus Ming December 2016).

4 comments on “Tangerine (2015)

  1. SJHoneywell
    12/04/2016

    I think you liked it more than I did. I’m under the impression it made it onto the list because of how it was shot. I’m not sure I’m willing to watch it again any time soon. Impressive? Yes. Great? Not so much.

    • Klaus
      12/05/2016

      I really liked this one, and not only for the technical aspects, but for the way that it intertwined the stories of the main characters.

  2. nicolaskrizan
    01/30/2017

    A new kind of screw-ball comedy. It’s nice, but I’m somewhat ambivalent. Will it have staying power and remain in the next edition(s) of the 1001 book? I’m not so sure about that…

    • Klaus
      02/02/2017

      I liked it a lot, but I agree, probably won’t be around for the next edition.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 12/04/2016 by in 1001+, 2010s, All and tagged .
