ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

2017 Oscar Nominations

klaus2017Though the planetary configurations may out of alignment this year, I expect that I’ll do no worse than last. With little to aid my predictions for the 2017 Academy Awards, I’ll be posting related reviews and my picks in only 11 categories this year.

At broadcast time, you can also follow me on Twitter at MiNG Movie Reviews. I’ll be tweeting live from the JAG hotel this year to see what, if any, of my predictions come to pass.

Check back to this post periodically for updates, and feel free to post any criticisms, or your own picks. The 2017 Academy Awards airs Sunday, February 26, 2017 (Klaus Ming January 2017).

Best Picture
Arrival –  I love the sci-fi genre, but unlikely to win
Fences – i’m sure it made a better stage play
Hacksaw Ridge – an amazing story and brutally graphic images
Hell or High Water – probably the best of the lot, and my favourite
Hidden Figures – a very interesting film and surprisingly humorous
La La Land – overrated – but my pick to win 0/1
Lion – an incredibly moving film (especially the first half)
Manchester by the Sea – a made-for-the-Academy film, but not my cup of tea
Moonlight – a moving film and a strong contender – winner! 

Best Actor
Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea – my pick to win and winner! 1/2
Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge –  a very good performance
Ryan Gosling, La La Land – I don’t see it.
Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic – the supporting cast was key to this performance
Denzel Washington, Fences – Oscar bait

Best Actress
Isabelle Huppert, Elle – probably the best performance, but too controversial a role
Ruth Negga, Loving – a quiet nuanced performance
Natalie Portman, Jackie – as much as I’d like to see Meryl’s speech, Natalie is my pick to win
Emma Stone, La La Land – better performance than her co-star – winner! 1/3
Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins – a wonderful performance

Best Supporting Actor
Mahershala Ali, Moonlight – fine performance and my pick to win and winner 2/4
Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water – he’s gotten better with age
Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea – nice performance
Dev Patel, Lion – nice performance, but nomination belongs to Sunny Pawar
Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals – great character, and my favourite performance

Best Supporting Actress
Viola Davis, Fences – a great “stage” performace, and my pick to win and winner 3/5
Naomie Harris, Moonlight – strong gritty performance
Nicole Kidman, Lion – a wonderful performance
Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures – preferred Taraji P. Henson
Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea – small role but effective performance

Best Director
Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
Hacksaw Ridge – Mel Gibson
La La Land – Damien Chazelle and my pick to win and winner 4/6
Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Best Cinematography
Arrival – didn’t see the cinematorgraphy as one of this film’s strengths
La La Land – a very pretty picture – winner! 4/7
Lion – beautiful photography – my favourite
Moonlight – tried too hard
Silence – a powerful film with uncompromising images – my pick to win 

Best Editing
Arrival – editing nicely assisted the story telling
Hacksaw Ridge – amazing battle scenes, and my pick to win and winner 5/8
Hell or High Water – should have been nominated for Best Cinematography
La La Land – could have used a few more cuts
Moonlight – slow moving

Best Production Design
Arrival – good looking monsters
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – that’s about all this mess has going for it
Hail, Caesar! – not feeling any love for this one
La La Land – one of this film’s real strengths – my pick to win and winner 6/9
Passengers – gorgeous set design

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
Arrival – the real strength of this film
Fences – not much adaptation going on here
Hidden Figures – a complicated story with three protagonists and my pick to win
Lion – a captivating story that would have been difficult to adapt
Moonlight – a realistically told story – winner! 6/10

Writing (Original Screenplay)
Hell or High Water – a decent update on the western genre, and my pick to win
La La Land – thin on plot – not sure why it was even nominated in this category
The Lobster – amazing ORIGINAL screenplay, I hope this wins, but I doubt it will.
Manchester by the Sea – a thoughtful well-crafted story – but nothing new here – winner! 6/11
20th Century Women – a very original take on well-worn dramatic concepts

5 comments on “2017 Oscar Nominations

  1. nicolaskrizan
    01/30/2017

    When is the proper time to start speculating about which (if any) of these will show up in the next 1001 edition?

    • Klaus
      01/30/2017

      Funny, I was thinking about that when I was adding Hell or High Water. I’m so behind this year. I have to do a couple double features this weekend before I can begin contemplating that question 🙂

  2. Klaus
    02/21/2017

    Where’s Annette Bening’s nomination for her role in 20th Century women?

  3. Klaus
    02/26/2017

    Live on twitter now https://twitter.com/Klausming

  4. Klaus
    02/27/2017

    Off to a great start 4/4, then the wheels fell off and I ended up 6/11

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 01/25/2017 by in Other Stuff.
