ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

Iron Man 2 (2010)

USA 124m, Colour
Director: Jon Favreau; Cast: Robert Downey, Jr., Don Cheadle, Mickey Rourke, Gwyneth Paltrow, Scarlett Johansson, Sam Rockwell, Samuel L. Jackson

Even with the much-anticipated addition of the whip-wielding Mickey Rourke as Ivan Vanko, Tony Stark’s chief protagonist, Iron Man 2 lacks the originality, depth and quirkiness of its predecessor. Despite another solid performance by Downey, the story lacked the focus of the original, and introduced unnecessary secondary characters and subplots which were of minor consequence. Despite its shortcomings, Iron Man 2 is an entertaining film with terrific special effects, which thankfully were not filmed in 3D (Klaus Ming May 2010).

6 comments on “Iron Man 2 (2010)

  1. Marc
    05/11/2010

    Have to agree with you in being happy it wasn’t filmed 3D. With so many movies going that route, it’s almost a nice feeling seeing something that didn’t buy into the fad:)

    Downey was on point, and aside from Rockwell (which no one else will agree with me on), no one else stepped up in any way…

  2. klausming
    05/11/2010

    I hadn’t given much thought to Rockwell’s performance – but I agree, he was one of the few besides Downey that breathed some life into his character.

  3. Frank Mengarelli
    05/12/2010

    I’m with you on the 3D, latest thing I’ve read is that Captain America and The Avengers is going to be shot with 3D. That really blows.

    It broke my heart when Scorsese announced he’s going to be making the “Invention of Huge Cabert” in 3D.

    Why Marty…why?

  4. klausming
    05/12/2010

    I hadn’t heard about the 3D Scorsese – oh my – how long will the madness continue?

    http://www.filmofilia.com/2010/04/18/martin-scorseses-the-invention-of-hugo-cabret-in-3d/

    If they could at least get rid of the glasses, I might be interested.

  5. Frank Mengarelli
    05/13/2010

    It’s Scorsese – I’ll always be interested. Have you posted a review on “Shutter Island”? I thought that was a pretty bad film – and Scorsese is my all time favorite director too. 😦

  6. CMrok93
    05/14/2010

    Thought it was Ok to say the least. Check out my review here: http://dtmmr.wordpress.com/2010/05/14/iron-man-2-2010/

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 05/09/2010 by in 2010s, All, Unlisted and tagged .