ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

The Shining (1980)

USA 146m, Colour
Director: Stanley Kubrick; Cast: Jack Nicholson, Shelley Duvall, Danny Lloyd, Scatman Crothers

Adapted from a Stephen King novel of the same name, The Shining is an iconic horror film that is now ingrained in popular culture. In playing the axe-wielding hotel caretaker who descends into madness, Jack Nicholson’s splendid over-the-top performance sets the standard for possessed-madman in the horror genre. Kubrick’s slow, but steadily increased pacing throughout the film, along with his extensive use of the steady-cam, which fluidly follows the actors as they move throughout the spacious hotel are very effective means in building suspense and terror. As with his other films, Kubrick leaves many events and images unexplained – leaving the viewer to fill in the gaps with their own imagination, and to discuss possible meanings well after the film is over (Klaus Ming May 2010).

3 comments on “The Shining (1980)

  1. Marc
    06/03/2010

    While I agree with you, this movie leaves a lot of things open to interpretation. However, I am in the minority of people who just don’t like this movie.

    Funny thing is, I am in the hotel design business and the scariest thing in that movie, aside from Jack with an axe, is the hotel:p

  2. Klaus
    06/03/2010

    I never really cared too much for it until my recent re-watching. like a few other films which i’ve recently re-watched, I hadn’t seen The Shining in years, and had never seen an unedited (non-TV friendly version). As a result, I my expectations were not all that great – and i guess I was pleasantly surprised at how much I actually liked this film (not really being a big horror fan).

    I think a lot of what works in this film for me has to do with Jack’s performance, and his efforts at the typewriter (the reveal of his “work” is my favorite part of the film).

    Besides the steady cam, Kubrick’s use of light in the hotel is also pretty cool – and certainly adds to the overall creepiness.

  3. Marc
    06/03/2010

    Maybe I’ll give it another go…but I’m not in any hurry. Funny you should mention catching it on TV though. Aside from maybe 1 or 2 VHS viewings, I see this on TV a lot too:P

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 05/31/2010 by in 1001 List, 1980s, All, Top 100 and tagged .