ming movie reviews

in about 100 words or less

A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001)

USA 146m, Colour
Director: Steven Spielberg; Cast: Haley Joel Osment, Frances O’Connor, Jude Law, Sam Robards, Jake Thomas, William Hurt

aiA.I. is a captivating darkly themed science-fiction film about the development of a cybernetic boy known as David who is programmed with emotions and given to a grieving family whose dying biological son is being kept in suspended animation. As David, Haley Joel Osment delivers an endearing, although at times, an unnerving portrayal of the unblinking Pinocchio-inspired child robot – which remains one of the most memorable child performances in cinema history. Despite criticisms that A.I. suffers from an over-abundance of sentimentality, particularly with regard to the film’s conclusion, I would argue that the emotional ending was a perfect fit with the intent of what remains a dark and largely under appreciated movie (Klaus Ming May 2010).

3 comments on “A.I. Artificial Intelligence (2001)

  1. Derrick
    05/14/2010

    plus it had alien archaeologist’s in it.

    • Klaus
      05/14/2010

      Doesn’t every great film? 😉

  2. Frank Mengarelli
    05/14/2010

    I haven’t seen this, but I do have a chubby for William Hurt. I’m gonna have to check it out soon.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on 05/14/2010 by in 1001+, 2000s, All and tagged .